Limerick pushed all the way by Tipp but secure place in Munster final with late blitz

A late scoring burst secured red-hot favourites, Limerick, their place on this yr’s Munster last however they got the fright of their lives by a defiant Tipperary on the TUS Gaelic Grounds.

he All-Ireland champions may solely breathe simply after late objectives from Conor Boylan (69th minute) and Aaron Gillane (71st minute) edged them away from a Premier county crew now successfully out of the championship with a recreation nonetheless to play.

But Limerick had been extraordinarily fortunate that Gillane was nonetheless on the sector at that stage, having obtained only a yellow on the hour for what regarded a wild pull throughout Tipp captain, Ronan Maher.

Seldom have Tipp gone right into a Munster championship recreation as such heavy underdogs and it quickly started to look as if the prevailing gloom round this crew wasn’t unjustified.

We had been simply within the eighth minute when Gillane caught a Diarmuid Byrnes supply over Seamus Kennedy’s head to fireside an virtually desultory Limerick objective that put the All-Ireland champions 1-4 to 0-3 forward.

But Tipp’s work-rate throughout the sector was unrecognisable from what had been witnessed of their earlier outing in opposition to Clare and, given a roving function across the center, Ger Browne was presenting big points for an assortment of markers in inexperienced.

The Cashel man had a fast 0-3 on the board, Limerick struggling to tie him down given his fixed motion between midfield and the attacking strains

Tipp had been pushing up on Limerick’s puck-outs, making a stress zone for opponents discovering it tough to get Kyle Hayes into the sport too, Ronan Maher monitoring him out the sector after the Kildimo-Pallaskenry man had began on the sting of the ‘square’.

By half-time, Limerick’s revered half-back line regarded severely discommoded, Tipp arriving on the break with an surprising 0-14 to 1-9 lead.

Noel McGrath was nailing his frees whereas Cathal Barrett was coming to grips with Gillane having, unusually, misplaced him for that early Limerick objective.

Most unusually, Limerick arrived at that break with 9 wides to their title, the likes of Gearoid Hegarty and Tom Morrissey wanting off color whereas Tipp’s middle-third overload had Will O’Donoghue and Darragh O’Donovan wanting overworked in midfield.

Tipp may even have had a twenty sixth minute objective when Michael Breen obtained on the tip of a Jake Morris–Barry Heffernan transfer solely to shoot below stress from Barry Nash, his effort simply saved by Limerick goalkeeper, Nickie Quaid.

There was a palpable hum of hysteria within the massive Limerick crowd because the groups went to their dressing-rooms, Tipp two factors up and acting at a stage nearly no person had anticipated.

And Colm Bonnar’s males continued to hold powerful after the resumption, arriving at that hour mark nonetheless two factors forward (0-20 to 1-15) and with their opponents struggling to comprise the Premier’s ferocious work-rate.

But then, in true champion type, an unanswered 5 factors scoring burst between the 61st and 66th minutes pushed Limerick a objective clear.

Gearoid Hegarty then fielded Barry Hogan’s puck-out from the final of these scores and handed as much as substitute, Seamus Flanagan, whose cross to Boylan was initially missed just for the Na Piarsaigh man to fireside one-handed to the Tipp internet.

Just seconds later, Gillane had his second objective following an extended supply, the massive Limerick crowd in a 27,141 attendance roaring their heroes dwelling after a contest that proved way more quarrelsome than most individuals had anticipated.

SCORERS: Limerick – A Gillane 2-5 (0-4 frees), T Morrissey 0-4, D Byrnes 0-3 (0-2 frees, 0-1 65), C Boyland 1-0, D O’Donovan and C O’Neill 0-2 every, B Nash, D Hannon, G Hegarty, G Mulcahy and D Reidy 0-1 every.

Tipperary – N McGrath 0-13 (0-10 frees, 0-1 65, 0-1 line lower), G Browne and J Morris 0-3 every, B Heffernan, R Byrnes, M Kehoe and P Flynn 0-1 every.

LIMERICK: N Quaid, S Finn, M Casey, B Nash, D Byrnes, D Hannon, D Morrissey, W O’Donoghue, D O’Donovan, G Hegarty, C O’Neill, T Morrissey, A Gillane, Ok Hayes, G Mulcahy. Subs – S Flanagan for O’Neill (40 minutes), D Reidy for O’Donoghue (54 minutes), C Boylan for Mulcahy (59 minutes), R English for D Morrissey (69 minutes), O O’Reilly for Hayes (69 minutes).

TIPPERARY: Barry Hogan, C Barrett, B Heffernan, C Morgan, D Quirke, R Maher, S Kennedy, P Cadell, M Breen, C Stakelum, N McGrath, G Browne, J Morris, M Kehoe, P Flynn. Subs – R Byrnes for Cadell (35 minutes), C Bowe for Flynn (48 minutes), D McCormack for Browne (64 minutes), A Flynn for Stakelum (69 minutes).

Referee – L Gordon (Galway).

Download the Sunday World app

Now obtain the free app for all the most recent Sunday World News, Crime, Irish Showbiz and Sport. Available on Apple and Android units

Source hyperlink

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.